Dana lim prisenEN


The Dana Lim Award is awarded by the company’s owner, the Kai Hansens Fond. The award is aimed at scientific research that benefits Danish industry or society.


The annual awards are regarded in scientific circles as a major recognition of effort, and have been awarded to a wide range of scientific projects since their inception in 1955.


In recent years, the award has been given to:


2017: Doctor Anders Dahl, who received DKK 380,000 for research in fatal heart disease.


2016: Bente Pakkenberg received 35.000 kroner for a research project on the neglected brain disease Multipel System Atrofi (MSA), which every year kills 250 to 300 Danes.


2014: The owner of Rosenkilde Gods handicap riding centre, Helle Nissen, who received DKK 300,000 to build a sensory riding paddock to the benefit of the physically and mentally handicapped.


2012: Professor Niels Borregaard, who received DKK 250,000. Borregard is registrar of the Haematology Clinic at Copenhagen University Hospital. He specialises in blood diseases, and conducts research in blood immune systems.


2011: Kristian Kolind, who received DKK 80,000. The award was to fund Kolind's studies in the USA. He researches stem cells - one of only a handful of scientists able to do so in the world.


2008: Martin Etchells Vigild. who received DKK 250,000 to finance equipment or instruments that can be used to try out new research ideas and let bright students try their hand at small-scale projects within nanoporous materials.


2006: Professor Jesper Mørk, who received DKK 400,000 for ongoing research within semiconductor technology and optical communication, used for faster data transport on the internet for example.


2005: Dennis Wowern Nielsen, who received DKK 400,000 for research into the conversion of pig manure into such substances as adhesives.


2004: Professor Jørgen Ahrent Jensen, who received DKK 400,000 for research within medical technology.


2003: Lecturer Paul Robert Hansen PhD, who received DKK 120,000 for new equipment for peptide research within antibiotics.


2002: Lecturer Georgios Kontogeorgis PhD, who received DKK 250,000 for research in thermodynamics and polymer compounds.


2001: Pieter Telleman PhD, who received DKK 250,000 for research into biochips for fast, cheap disease diagnosis.



In addition to the Dana Lim Award, the Kai Hansens Fond also makes donations to charity every year.